Algeria Visa Center


Location:Northern Africa, bordering the Mediterranean Sea, between Morocco and Tunisia
Geographic coordinates:28 00 N, 3 00 E
Map references:Africa
Area:total:  2,381,740 square kilometers
land:  2,381,740 square kilometers
water:  0 square kilometers
Comparative area:slightly less than 3.5 times the size of Texas
Land boundaries:total: 6,343 kilometers
border countries:  Libya 982 kilometers, Mali 1,376 kilometers, Mauritania 463 kilometers, Morocco 1,559 kilometers, Niger 956 kilometers, Tunisia 965 km, Western Sahara 42 kilometers
Coastline:998 kilometers
Maritime claims:exclusive fishing zone:  32-52 NM
territorial sea:  12 NM
Climate:arid to semiarid; mild, wet winters with hot, dry summers along coast; drier with cold winters and hot summers on high plateau; sirocco is a hot, dust- and sand-laden wind especially common in summer
Terrain:mostly high plateau and desert; some mountains; narrow, discontinuous coastal plain
Elevation extremes:lowest point:  Chott Melrhir -40 meters
highest point:  Tahat 3,003 meters
Natural resources:petroleum, natural gas, iron ore, phosphates, uranium, lead, zinc
Land use:arable land: 3.17%
permanent crops: 0.28%
other: 96.55% (2005)
Irrigated land:5,690 square kilometers (2003 est.)
Natural hazards:mountainous areas subject to severe earthquakes; mud slides and floods in rainy seasons
Current environment issues:soil erosion from overgrazing and other poor farming practices; desertification; dumping of raw sewage, petroleum refining wastes, and other industrial effluents is leading to the pollution of rivers and coastal waters; Mediterranean Sea, in particular, becoming polluted from oil wastes, soil erosion, and fertilizer runoff; inadequate supplies of potable water
International environment agreements:Party to: Biodiversity, Climate Change, Climate Change-Kyoto Protocol, Desertification, Endangered Species, Environmental Modification, Hazardous Wastes, Law of the Sea, Ozone Layer Protection, Ship Pollution, Wetlands
signed, but not ratified: none of the selected agreements
Note:Algeria is the second largest country in Africa (after Sudan)